On The Lookout: Soma Bringer

February 21, 2008 at 8:38 am | Posted in Import Gems | Leave a comment

So my next game purchase has been decided and it is Soma Bringer! I have decided to bite the bullet and hope for the best come next week. I never really paid any attention to the game until they finally updated the official site last week. The videos for the game alone have gotten me hyped. I have recently been pining for a good Action RPG, especially one with co-op and this seems to fit the bill perfectly. But it doesn’t seem too far-fetched to believe the game will be good as the people responsible for it are Monolith Soft, known for their work on games such as Xenogears and Xenosaga.

The official site can be found here with several videos spread throughout the site. The trailer is on the bottom button which says Touch-DS.jp and then some videos under Battle and Keywords. I can’t help but be excited mainly because of how good the 3D engine looks. The animations are incredibly smooth and are beyond anything else I can think of on DS. The combat also seems fairly customizable which is something important in making an Action RPG interesting for long periods of time. So far I am also digging the music in the trailers and videos. I am hoping to get the soundtrack with my reservation. 

The only gripes I have at the moment are the character designs which just appear a little too cookie cutter and mediocre, and the lack of wi-fi play.There will be a demo out today that I will be picking up after work, so I plan to get back with some impressions after trying it out. 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

